Kamisama Hajimemashita

I debated with myself long and hard as to whether or not I should blog about this.

On the one hand, blogging about it would be admitting to the world that not only do I read manga, but that I read shoujo manga – exposing one of my guilty pleasures.

On the other hand, I have a Graphic Novel Reading Challenge to finish this year and I’ve only read 1 graphic novel so far.

So, yes, I’m totally going to blame them for this.  That challenge was the sole reason I read this.  Honest!

Kamisama Hajimemashita is 2008 manga by Julietta Suzuki, serialized in Hana to Yume.  It is an ongoing manga, with 14 volumes out in Japanese.  In terms of English scanlations, the most recent chapter released, a few weeks ago, was chapter 81.

The story is about a high school girl, Nanami, who was recently abandoned by her gambling father, and evicted from her home thanks to her father’s debt.

Luckily for her, on her first night of being homeless, she meets and helps out a man who also happened to be a minor god / deity (the Land god, really), who helps her out of her predicament by giving her his godly status.

As the new Land god, not only does Nanami become a minor deity, she also gets her her very own home in the form of an old, abandoned shrine in the mountains.

Fortunately (or unfortunately) the shrine has 3 servants to help her out – 2 minor spirits, and one former demon spirit who is quite foxy – literally.  During the original Land god’s 20-year absence, the shrine was maintained mostly by the god’s “familiar,” (aka representative), Tomoe, a former fox-demon (though by his looks, he really should be modelling Abercrombie and Fitch somewhere…but I digress…).

Of course, as shoujo mangas/animes go, high school girl + predicament + handsome fox-demon with powers + servant-master relationship  = a whole lot of squeeing and fangirling.  The perfect ingredients for a shoujo manga….

….not that I would really know much about it because I like I’ve emphatically said earlier, I don’t read a whole lot of shoujo mangas….really!

Erm…anyway….

As far as the story goes, Kamisama Hajimemashita is pretty simple. As the new land god, Nanami must answer prayers, grant wishes, all the while training to increase her spiritual powers and become more godly, at the same time trying to enjoy a normal high school girl’s life – complete with romance and heartaches.

Also, because it is a fantasy/supernatural/ romance, it’s given that she gets into all sorts of trouble with other supernatural creatures, and that there’s a fair amount of kissing, hugging/touching.  Good stuff.

The stories in the different arcs are not as polished as I would have liked, and some plot elements are questionable, but I’m hoping that the author will fully explain those in time.

As far as the ending goes, I have no idea how or when this manga will end, though the current arc seems to be hinting that an end is just around the corner….then again, I also thought Bleach would end one million chapters ago and it’s still ongoing…

But really…not that I would know anything about that at all….

By the way, this manga has recently been turned into an anime (Fall 2012 season) – squee…er, I mean…ho-hum….. ^^;

***

The second selection in the Graphic Novel Reading Challenge, 2012.

Kamisama Hajimemashita (2008) – Julietta Suzuki

Hana to Yume; Ongoing (14 volumes)

Personal rating:  4/5

9 thoughts on “Kamisama Hajimemashita

  1. Cool! Glad to see you post again! Sure blame the challenge all you want 😉 It seems every time I post about the latest “Library Wars” volume I have to preface about how I don’t usually read shojo … (After I read your first sentence I thought you were going to talk about yaoi! :-0)

    • Hahahaha! Funny! Well, no, actually I’ve never read yaoi…and that’s the truth!! I almost came close to watching a yaoi anime by accident though…I forgot what it was called but it was about a bakery…? Antique Bakery…something?? Hahaha..that would be interesting to try….? o.O

  2. hahaha i feel with u ^^, even if it’s nothing wrong with liking shoujo manga X’D i can feel that i should not be as happy to read them as i am or act as i do when i read them hahaha. and this is a pretty good manga will look forward for more eps in the anime. and great work with the review

    • Thanks! Yeah, the manga was pretty good. There are 3 eps to the anime so far. The anime is pretty good except I’m wondering why the episode order is a bit different from the manga chapters. Hmmm…it kinda affects the story… Oh well…just have to wait and see.

      By the way, I visited your blog and saw Saimono…LOVED that manga/anime!! Ryuuki ❤ LOL

Leave a Reply

