The Mysterious Affair at Styles

When an elderly heiress, sleeping alone in her room, is poisoned, it is up to Private Detective extraordinaire Hercule Poirot to solve the mysterious case and bring the criminal to justice!

In the small village of Styles St. Mary, the town is shaken up when one of its most prominent, if not wealthiest residents, Mrs. Inglethorp suddenly dies of poisoning.  Though living in a mansion with several family members and household staff, everyone is at a loss as to who may have done the horrendous deed, though most of them seem to have a motive.  Was she killed by Mrs. Inglethorp’s two stepsons, John and Lawrence Cavendish, who, though raised by Mrs. Inglethorp, have money and the estate to gain by their step-mother’s death?  Or was she killed by John Cavendish’ attractive wife, Mary, who had a special interest in poisons, especially as a woman’s murder weapon of choice?  Or perhaps it was young Cynthia Howard, Mrs. Inglethorp’s ward; a nurse who had access to unlimited medicine and chemicals at the village hospital?  Of course Mrs. Inglethorp’s family suspects the mysterious Mr. Inglethorp, a stranger much younger than Mrs. Inglethorp who, after a short courtship, marries the elderly woman.  Or could it have been Evie, Mrs. Inglethorp’s most trusted friend and servant, fiercely loyal to her but hates her new husband?  Perpahs it is Dr. Bauerstein, the strange doctor visiting Styles who has struck a peculiar friendship with Mary Cavendish?  It is up to Hercule Poirot to get to the bottom of the mystery and solve the crime!

The Mysterious Affair at Styles, by Agatha Christie, marks the very first appearance of the famous detective, Hercule Poirot.  The Belgian, visiting Styles St. Mary during the time of the crime, bumps into his friend, Mr. Hastings, the narrator of the story, and a guest of Mr. John Cavendish, in their home.  Fortunately for the Cavendish family, through the encouragement of Mr. Hastings, Hercule Poirot agrees to take on the case and help solve the mystery of their mother’s untimely death.

Like most of the Agatha Christie novel’s I’ve read, The Mysterious Affair at Styles is a fast-paced, straight-to-the-point, good ole’ fashioned mystery, which, though it deals with death and treachery, is light and enjoyable to read.  Readers will enjoy the funny antics of the eccentric Hercule Poirot, and his unorthodox methods of deduction to solve even the most complex of mysteries.  The Mysterious Affair at Styles is a classic whodunnit, and the book that started it all –  and it is recommended for fans of Hercule Poirot and Agatha Christie!

***

The Mysterious Affair at Styles (1920) – Agatha Christie

William Morrow; 247 pages (paperback)

Personal rating:  3/5

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “The Mysterious Affair at Styles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s