Good Riddance, 2016. Hello, 2017!

Happy New Year!!

I haven’t been blogging lately, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been reading.  In fact, I have 2 back-reviews I have to post, of books I read in December.  I also have to write and post a review of the first book I read in 2017, and other bookish / bloggish New Year’s Resolutions, and news, but first, the ever-necessary post about all the books I read the previous year.

2016 was a bad reading year for me; I only finished 20 novels even though my goal was still 50 (I’ve actually never met that goal, but I’ve come closer to it some years…).  It’s strange because, 2016 was also the year I quit work, so you’d think I would be able to actually read more.  Alas, that was not to be.  Looking back at 2016, my book choices seem pretty eclectic, ranging from YA-ish fantasy, to Ernest Hemingway, and even a couple of new series.  I don’t really have a method in choosing what I read- several of the books came from book recommendation articles (“Best One-Book Fantasy Novels”, if I’m not mistaken), while some, like the ones by and about Ernest Hemingway, were due to my current obsession at the time.

I read some novels by authors I’ve read, and enjoyed before, like Patrick Dewitt, Yann Martel, Kazuro Ishiguro, Agatha Christie, and Ernest Hemingway, though I didn’t enjoy Martel’s The High Mountains of Portugal, and Dewitt’s Under Majordomo Minor as much as their other novels.  The other authors on the list are all new for me.

I read several “fantasy” novels last year, almost all borderline YA, though I don’t think any of them were classified as such.  There was Uprooted, by Naomi Novak, The Ghost Bride, by Yangsze Choo, The Sorcerer and the Crown, by Zen Cho, The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern, and A Darker Shade of Magic, by V.E. Schwab.  I just noticed that except for The Ghost Bride, all the books in the fantasy category has something to do with magic/magicians.  Most of the fantasy books I enjoyed, except for The Night Circus, which I disliked very much.  The Sorcerer and the Crown was a bit of a disappointment, but I really enjoyed A Darker Shade of Magic, and its second book, A Gather of Shadows (more on that later).

Of the “serious”books – Kobo Abe’s The Woman in the Dunes, was terrifying, in a way; Dashiel Hammet’s The Maltese Falcon was not really to my liking, Kazuo Ishiguro’s When We Were Orphans was a good read; I enjoyed Hemingway’s A Farewell to Arms more than I did The Sun Also Rises; and Stedman’s The Light Between Oceans was moving, but boring at the same time.  I liked the C.J. Sansom series I discovered – The Shardlake Series, and got to read 2 of the 5 novels (I still have one book, unread).  Another wonderful series I discovered late in the year was V.E. Schwab’s  Shades of Magic, starting with A Darker Shade of Magic, followed by A Gathering of Shadows, and finally ending with A Conjuring of Light, which hasn’t been released yet.

This year, of course, I will strive to read harder, and read more.  I will set my Goodreads Reading Challenge again to 50 – who knows, this might be my lucky year, right?? – and I might try doing a couple of reading challenges, namely Popsugar’s Read Harder 2017, and maybe the Back to Classics Reading Challenge, by Books and Chocolate, just to make things a little bit interesting.

Anyway…below is my Goodreads Reading Challenge, in pictures.  All the books listed there were reviewed on this blog, so feel free to look around and read (and hopefully comment), if you’re interested – a list of all the reviews by year, can be found here.

1

2

3

4

5

6-last

Thanks to everyone who took some time to visit my blog and to read, like, or comment!  Good luck to everyone in 2017!

8 thoughts on “Good Riddance, 2016. Hello, 2017!

  1. Are there any books you’re hoping to tackle in 2017? I need to take a look at my shelves and attempt to read some of the books I own. I also want to read a few classics this year as well, but we’ll see…

    • Yes! I was actually planning to do a post about it….I had a lot of unfinished novels from 2016 and there are also some books I’m looking forward to, like JRR Tolkein and Haruki Murakami’s new books…then there are the other books on my tbr pile….. Hahaha….oh, and the Back to Classics Challenge I want to join so I can also read more classics…you’d might want to try it to…?

Leave a Reply

