Dissolution is the first book in C.J. Sansom‘s Shardlake Series. Set in Tudor England, the series stars Matthew Shardlake, a hunchbacked lawyer, who, through commissions from his master, Thomas Cromwell, ends up doing more crime / mystery solving jobs than legal work.

Anne Boleyn has just been executed for infidelity and Queen Jane Seymour has just died of childbirth; the rift between the papists and the reformers have grown dangerously bigger since Thomas Cromwell has started his dissolution campaign against the papist monks by seizing their monasteries all over England so that their lands could be granted to favored Lords of Henry VIII.  Cromwell now has his eyes on a wealthy Benedictine Monastery at Scarnsea and has sent one of his men, Commissioner Robin Singleton to get Abbot Fabian to surrender the property to the King.  Unfortunately, while at Scarnsea, Commissioner Singleton meets a gruesome fate – his head is cut off by an unknown assailant, who also desecrates the church and steals a holy relic – the Hand of the Penitent Thief.

At the bidding of Cromwell, Matthew Shardlake must travel to Scarnsea, with his ward and assistant Mark Poer, to investigate the cruel murder of Commissioner Singleton, but most importantly, to stay in Cromwell’s good graces, Shardlake must get the monks to surrender their monastery.

Shardlake and Poer, are faced with many difficulties upon reaching Scarnsea; bad weather, difficulties with the attitudes of the different monks towards him and Mark, but most importantly, difficulties in solving the perplexing case.  Shardlake, a reformer who was educated all his life by monks, must now put his personal prejudices against monastic teachings, and the monks themselves, aside, in order to discover the identity of the killer, and his motives for killing Singleton.

Though C.J. Sansom loses no time in getting the ball rolling in Dissolution, after Shardlake and Poer get to Scarnsea, their investigation don’t turn up much and nothing very interesting happens for a big part of the novel.  The story starts to pick up toward the end as Shardlake puts the clues together, but by then, the plot, and identity of the killer become quite predictable.

Like the first Shardlake novel I read, Revelation, Dissolution focuses strongly on religion and the loss of faith, not only on a higher being, but also in people, principles, and ideals long held by one to be just and true.  As Shardlake solves the mystery of Scarnsea, he also discovers the truth about the nature of Thomas Cromwell and his role in the execution of Anne Boleyn.

Dissolution, with its murder in a monastery run by Benedictine monks is slightly reminiscent of Umberto Eco’s The Name of the Rose, but less wordy and intellectual. To be honest, I still have not finished The Name of the Rose, but if you like those kinds of stories, without actually straining your brain too much, Dissolution is the book for you!  It’s got enough intrigue, mystery, and history to keep you reading to the end; the perfect book for any crime / historical fiction fan!


Dissolution (2003) – C.J. Sansom

Pan Books; 443 pages (tpb)

Personal rating:  3/5


7 thoughts on “Dissolution

  1. I quite enjoyed this one but i agree the pace was a bit uneven at times. Good luck with The Name of the Rose. That took me three years to read and I was pulling my hair out at times! Worth it though ☺

  2. I haven’t read any of Sansom’s stories yet, but I have read The Name of the Rose and like it a lot. maybe I’ll pick up Dissolution at the library.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s