November Book Loot

Ten books for the month of November, some of which I bought abroad personally, and others I bought abroad, online.

 

insisde post

Early November, I went to Hong Kong and visited a branch of their wonderful bookstore, Page One; went home with the following:

  1.  One the Road – Jack Kerouac – I hate to admit that I still have not read this book.  I liked the small, paperback edition at Page One, so I finally bought a copy.  Hopefully I’ll get to read it soon.
  2. By the Pricking of my Thumbs – Agatha Christie – Souvenir for my mom.  I’ll probably read it eventually.
  3. Ring Roads – Patrick Modiano
  4. A Brief History of Seven Killings – Marlon James – A second copy which I will give to a friend I lost a bet to (I picked the wrong Booker winning novel for 2015, and this is the prize).
  5. A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry – This is the book I’m currently reading.  It’s quite long, but interesting.  I’m liking it so far.  This is probably going to be the last book I finish (if at all) this year.  This copy I got at Page One at the airport.

Late arrivals from The Book Depository:  I ordered this last September, but for some reason, my local post office only delivered it last week. At this point, I’m just glad to get it.

  1. A Strangeness in my Mind – Orhan Pamuk – Orhan Pamuk’s most recent translated work.  A very thick book, which I hope to read some time next year.
  2. Undermajordomo Minor – Patrick DeWitt – I enjoyed The Sisters Brothers, and I’ve read a lot of good…and not so good, reviews of his latest novels.

Novels from my local bookstore:

  1.  Trigger Warning – Neil Gaiman – Paperback copy of his collection of short stories.  I’m not a huge fan of short stories, so I waited for a cheaper, less cumbersome version of this to come out.  I’ve actually read a couple stories from it already.
  2. The Familiar:  Volume 2 – Mark Z. Danielewski – I’ve yet to even open Vol. 1, but I bought Vol. 2, in case I really like the first one.  I think I read somewhere that this novel is going to be 23 volumes long, to be released in the next….how many years.
  3. The Sandman:  Overture – Neil Gaiman – A compilation of the 6 chapters they sold separately, the last of which was released just a few months ago.  I was able to collect the 6 chapters individually, but haven’t finished reading it yet.

How is everyone’s book buying for 2015?

 

9 thoughts on “November Book Loot

  1. Oh, man, you’ve got all the books I long to read except A Fine Balance by Mistry. You will enjoy it. In fact, it’s one of my most favorite books.
    By the way, you’re such a man of your word;you know how to keep your promise. I wish I could bet with you too. lol

Leave a Reply

