October Book Loot

I try to post something on here at least once a week, but recently, because I haven’t been reading as much, it takes me about 2 weeks before I can post anything. I still don’t have a book review to post – though I will have one soon, so here’s my book loot for the past month:

  1. A Brief History of Seven Killings – Marlon James – The Booker Prize winner for 2015; I haven’t read it yet, but I know I will eventually. Good thing I bought it when I did because now I can’t find a copy anywhere.
  2. Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy – For a time I had an inexplicable urge to read this book, but as soon as I got a copy, I didn’t feel like reading it anymore. Hopefully I’ll have the urge to want to read it again soon.
  3. The Charterhouse of Parma – Stendhal – Sounds interesting, and maybe better than his The Red and the Black, which I still haven’t read.
  4. The Misanthrope and Tartuffe – Moliere – I read these plays when I was in high school, and loved them.  When I found a copy at a used books bookstore, I couldn’t resist.
  5. Adam Bede – George Eliot
  6. Home – Marilynne Robinson – A real bargain at a used books bookstore – they were practically giving it away.
  7. The Maltese Falcon – Dashiell Hammet
  8. The Housekeeper and the Professor – Yoko Ogawa – I read her other novel, Revenge, which is a collection of 11 short stories, which, though independent of each other, are somewhat connected.
  9. After the Funeral –  Agatha Christie – If you’re wondering why it suddenly seems like I’m collecting Agatha Christie’s novel even though I don’t seem like a huge fan, it’s because of my mom.  Recently she’s been interested in reading Agatha Christie novels, so I’ve been buying her copies I can find in  bookstores (used and new).
  10. The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas – After reading The Count of Monte Cristo, I was curious if all of Alexandre Dumas’ novels were as good.  Unfortunately, the reading slump caused by Dumas had set in and I couldn’t get myself to read another historical fiction.  Again, maybe someday.
  11. In The Country – Mia Alvar – Not in the photo, because I bought this for a friend, but I think it’s a collection of short stories.

It’s almost the end of the year, but I’m just about to reach the halfway point of my 50-book reading goal.  Looks like I won’t be able to do it again this year.  Oh well, there’s always next year 🙂

10 thoughts on “October Book Loot

  1. I was surprised by the humor in The Three Musketeers but there are some boring parts too. I’ve heard that The Count of Monte Cristo is better but haven’t gotten around to that one yet. I loved Gilead so Home should be a great one – enjoy your haul!

  2. I just finished reading Adam Bede – it was wonderful.Hope you enjoy it too but with this number of books to get through maybe it will be some time before you get to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

