September Book Loot

September is my favorite month, so it goes without saying it inspired me to buy books multitudinously (it’s a word….according to Monsieur Alexandre Dumas).

I bought 13 books this month, which I thought was the most so far, but looking back, it seems like I had also bought as many books back in February.  Oh well.

Here be the booty:

books inside

  1. Two Years, Eight Months, and Twenty-eight Night – Salman Rushdie
  2. Satin Island – Tom McCarthy – In the Booker Man shortlist for the 2015 prize.
  3. The Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas (Enriched Classic) – I bought this edition because it was cheaper, and seeing that it was over 600+ pages, I didn’t think it was abridged or incomplete; neither did it indicate anywhere in the novel that it was.  Unfortunately, I discovered after reading about 300 pages that it was indeed abridged, so I looked for a complete and unabridged edition, see #4.
  4. The Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas – Turns out the unabridged version is over 1,000 pages long (this beautiful leather-covered edition is 1,054 pages long).  Currently reading, and might I add, almost finished, after almost one month.  Part of the reason why it took me so long to finish it was because after getting the unabridged version, I went back and re-read it from the start.
  5. The Monogram Murders – Sophie Hannah – An Agatha Christie novel not written by Agatha Christie.
  6. The Tokyo Zodiac Murders – Soji Shimada
  7. A Wild Sheep Case – Haruki Murakami – 3rd part of the Rat Trilogy (Wind / Pinball are #1 and #2).
  8. Les Liaisaons Dangereuses – Pierre Choderlos de Laclos
  9. 10:04 – Ben Lerner
  10. The Moor’s Account – Laila Lalami – Part of the Booker Man Longlist; however was not included in the shortlist, for 2015.
  11. The New York Trilogy – Paul Auster
  12. Baltasar and Blimunda – Jose Saramago
  13. The Changeling – Kenzaburo Oe

Lots of newly published novels, and some which were a bit difficult to find, made available during the annual Manila International Book Fair (another reason why I love September).

I want to read all of these right away, but, I did not anticipate how compelling and interesting The Count of Monte Cristo would be.  I thought I knew the story of this Classic novel because of the countless adaptations, but, the plot of the novel covers so much more.

How’s everyone’s book buying and reading coming along?

10 thoughts on “September Book Loot

  1. I wondered why there were two editions of the Monte Christo in that picture…. gosh how frustrating to find after 300 pages that it was abridged. did you need to start reading all over again or was it obvious what was missing?

Leave a Reply

