August Book Loot

I seem to have a very short attention span lately; if I don’t like the book I’m reading, I wouldn’t think twice before putting it  down in favor of something else. I usually stick with a boring book until about halfway, or even till I eventually finish it, but lately, I don’t seem to have enough patience for books that don’t hook me in immediately.

The outcome is less reviews, and more “no-brainer” posts like this monthly book loot lists.

So, to get on with it, my book loot for August are:

books inside

                        August book loot, minus Wind/Pinball, which is currently on loan.

 

  1. The Blade Itself – Joe Abercrombie.  I wanted to read this because it ranks high on all the Best Fantasy Books lists I’ve seen.  I stopped a few chapters in because I just couldn’t get into it.  I might continue reading it later on.
  2. Nikon D7100 – David Busch – Still working my way through this.  It’s a more detailed camera manual for the Nikon D7100 dslr camera.  I bought it because the user manual that came with my camera is in Japanese, and though I read the English version online, I still wanted to have a print copy.
  3. Wind / Pinball – Haruki Murakami – a republication for Haruki Murakami’s first two novels, Hear the Wind Sing, and Pinball, 1973. 
  4. Smaller and Smaller Circles – F.H. Batacan – This is the book I’m currently reading.  I discovered it on a local bookstore’s Facebook page.  It’s a crime fiction about a serial killer on the loose in Manila, and 2 priest forensic investigators. Interesting, but not exactly riveting.  Technically, I didn’t buy it, since it was given to me by a friend as an early birthday gift / payment for some services rendered.
  5. The Tinderbox – Hans Christian Anderson.  This is another one of the Penguin Little Black Books.  I actually finished reading it, and it got me thinking about fairy tales, and the lessons they teach children, or adults, for that matter.  Why do fairytales seem to favor the cunning, oftentimes good-looking, yet slightly evil characters over the ugly characters who, though seemingly-evil, are usually innocent and are often the victims of the “good” guys?
  6. The Way We Live Now – Anthony Trollope.  Got this at a used books bookstore.

What books have you bought/read lately?

5 thoughts on “August Book Loot

  1. I didn’t like Smaller and Smaller Circles. I found it pretentious. I also doubt that serial killers in the Manila cannot do their thing because the neighbors are chismoso, haha! And happy birthday in advance!

    • Hahaha! Hmmm as far as being pretentious, I think there are more pretentious Filipino novels out there….this one I can tolerate. I think the novel is not bad, but it could have been better (though I’m not done yet).

      Thanks for the birthday wish….there’s still time for you to get me a bookish gift 😛 just kidding.

Leave a Reply

