June Book Loot

I honestly didn’t think I’d be able to post a Book Loot article this month because it wasn’t until the last days of June that I actually bought any.

A meager 2 books for the whole month, and I didn’t even notice – wow, I must really be in a rut.

So, what did I end up getting:

??????????????

The first is The Decameron by Giovanni Boccaccio.  It is a 14th century collection of 100 stories told by a group of noblemen and women to keep each other company in the countryside while escaping from the plague.  The novel promises to be an interesting collection of stories of people from all walks of life in different situations.

Since it seems more like a collection of short stories than a novel, it can be something I can read when I’m between novels or when I need something different.  I wonder how long it would take me to read 100 short stories?

The second book is The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell.  Nothing much to say about it except that it’s probably something gimmicky, which, because it is written by Davit Mitchell, who seems to enjoy a rock star status among contemporary writers, has been lauded time and time again.  I don’t have any plans of reading this novel anytime soon – if at all.  I bought it in the off chance that I might change my mind someday.

So, any new books you’d like to share?

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “June Book Loot

  1. I’ve never read any David Mitchell but I do like the cover (and that’s probably all I’ll ever know of the book).

    • I’m not a big fan of the guy. I think he’s overrated, and his style relies too much on gimmiks, but if you want to give hima try, the only novel of his I can recommend is The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet.

      • I’ve never even heard of that one – if I’m ever tempted, I’ll definitely look into it.

Leave a Reply

