The First Half of 2015

Back in January, I was confident that I could accomplish my reading goal of 50 books this year.  Up until February, I was doing pretty well – I was even ahead, according to the Goodreads Reading Challenge tracker.  Come March though, my reading slowed down, partly because I participated in a group reading of Middlemarch.

After Middlemarch (until now…?) I was in a bit of a reading slump, so my reading pace went downhill from there, which is why, though half of 2015 is more or less gone, I’ve only been able to finish 14 books.  So much for my goal of 50 books this year – unless by some miracle I’m able to read 36 books before December 31.  That would mean I’d have to read 6 books a month, for the next 6 months, which for me, would be near impossible.

Looking back at the books I’ve read so far, there doesn’t seem to be a unifying theme or trend in my choices.  I’ve read 15 books so far, 10 of which were fiction, and 5 of which were autobiographical / memoirs.  I only just noticed that the last 2 books I read were non-fiction / memoirs (Haruki Murakami’s What I Talk About When I Talk About Running and Paulo Coelho’s The Pilgrimage).  I read 3 books by Jose Saramago so far, Death with Interruptions, and The Cave because I enjoyed his memoir, Small Memories so much and decided to give him another chance.  This is probably the most I’ve read non-fiction / memoirs before.

Other things I noticed in my reading selection:

  • I read 2 books set in India (The Man Who Died Laughing, The Hundred-Foot Journey); 2 books set in Paris (Pure, Paris, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down); and 3 Japanese books (Death and the Flower, The Temple of the Golden Pavilion, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running).
  • 2 Classics (Middlemarch, Far From The Madding Crowd).
  • 3 Nobel Prize-winning authors (Detective Story by Imre Kertesz, Small Memories, The Cave and Death with Interruptions by Jose Saramago, and Temple of the Golden Pavilion by Yuko Mishima).
  • My stars ranged from 1-5; 1 book- 1 star; 4 books – 2 stars; 6 books – 3 stars; 3 books – 4 stars; 1 book – 5 stars.

Other than Middlemarch, most of the books I’ve read so far were pretty short or average length, so really, I don’t know why I haven’t read more, other than I just don’t feel like it.

books

The 15 books I read so far are:

  1. The Man Who Died Laughing (Tarkin Hall) – The second book in the Vish Puri Series. 2/5
  2. Small Memories – (Jose Saramago) – a memoir about his childhood. 4/5
  3. A Hundred-Foot Journey (Richard Morais) 2/5.
  4. Detective Story (Imre Kertesz) – Recipient of the Nobel Prize for Literature. 3/5
  5. Pure (Andrew Miller) – A historical fiction about the transfer and purification of the Les Innocents Cemetery in the 1700s. 3/5
  6. Paris, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down (Rosecrans Baldwin) – about the misadventures of an American living and working in Paris. 2/5
  7. Death and the Flower (Koji Suzuki) – A collection of 6 stories that center of family life. 4/5
  8. The Temple of the Golden Pavilion (Yukio Mishima) – Based on the historical incident of the burning down of the Temple of the Golden Pavilion in Kyoto, Japan. 2/5
  9. Middlemarch (George Eliot) – Read with a group. 5/5
  10. The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher (Kate Summerscale) – A historical account of a horrific murder at Road Hill House in the English countryside in the 1800s. 3/5
  11. Death with Interruptions – Jose Saramago. 4/5
  12. Far From the Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy. 3/5
  13. The Pilgrimage (Paulo Coelho) – About the author’s travels on the Camino de Santiago in Spain. 1/5
  14. What I Talk About When I Talk About Running (Haruki Murakami) – A collection of essays on the author’s running habits. 3/5
  15. The Cave (Jose Saramago) – a surprisingly deep, philosophical novel which can give you a headache if you’re not careful.  3/5

Hopefully I get out of my slump soon and get inspired to read more for the second half of the year.

What about you?  How’s your reading coming along?

15 thoughts on “The First Half of 2015

  1. Sometimes when I’m in a reading slump, I read something very unlike me and it helps me get out. Especially very light and easy reads. I don’t know if that will help for you, but I hope you get out of your slump soon!

  2. I wouldn’t fret about it too much – as long as you’re enjoying the experience what does it matter whether you hit a particular number (thats the view I came to personally two years ago :))

  3. Good luck! I hope you find a book that reignites your reading spark! 🙂 I encountered a bit of a slow down earlier this year as well – your Middlemarch was my David Copperfield.

  4. Read 19 books so far. Not bad, I think, for someone who doesn’t really keep track of how much she’s read. 🙂 How’s Austerlitz so far? 😀

Leave a Reply

