Book Nerd Problems #432

Don’t you hate it when, in your quest to find “something good to read,” you were able to amass a small pile of interesting books, and now you don’t know where to start?

The only solution of course, is to read a little bit from every book to see which would grab my attention first, then go from there.

Based on their first few pages/chapters, the order I’ll be reading them are:

  1. The Pilgrimage (Paulo Coelho) – I’m just about done with this.
  2. The Cave (Jose Saramago) – I’m a bit more used to Saramago’s writing style now, thanks to Death with Interruptions.
  3. Brighton Rock (Graham Greene)
  4. Murder on the Orient Express (Agatha Christie) – Would make a nice weekend / short vacation read.
  5. Oscar and Lucinda (Peter Carey) – I’ve actually read more than a few chapters already, but I’m finding it a bit dragging because the pace of the plot is a bit slow.  And considering that it’s not exactly a short novel, I’ve decided to read it after I’ve finished Brighton Rock and Orient Express, since both are shorter.
  6. Tom Jones (Henry Fielding) – Again, because it’s massive (the copy I have is over 800 pages long), I’m putting this off til I’ve read the shorter ones on that pile.
  7. The Mill on the Floss (George Eliot) – This is a bit iffy…I might not want to read this right after I read Tom Jones, but, who knows.  Also I think I want to read Daniel Deronda first.

This should take me through June and July, possibly August, if I don’t get distracted by other books not on this pile (and I’m sure I will).

20150528_083101[1]So, what’s on your reading pile?

 

22 thoughts on “Book Nerd Problems #432

  1. Hi! I have been doing monthly Required Reading plans for quite sometime now, but I always find myself easily distracted by “other” books. Sometimes, I get frustrated by these deviations in plans, OC that I am when it comes to reading, but I have learned to just go with the flow of my moods. After all, reading should be fun, right? 🙂

  2. This is a normal situation for me … I pile up and get distracted and sometimes I can not read at all because of my indecision. Then I go out for a walk and afterwards I take a book by intuition. By the way Agatha Christie’s Murder on the Orient Express is the next book on my reading list after finishing After Dark by Murakami Haruki.

    • Oh, I’ve read After Dark…it’s interesting and strange. Hope you like it!

      Sometimes I assign a number to the books them I ask a friend to choose a random number (depending on how many books I’m choosing from), then read the book corresponding to the number he/she chooses 😛 Or I draw lots if no one else is around.

  3. My reading pile for May is now reduced to two books: Lila and Neuromancer. I think I will abandon the latter. I’m not getting it.

    I don’t do the monthly reading plans now but I’ve lined up the following anyway:
    The Maltese Falcon – book of the month
    Rabbit Redux – the sequel to Rabbit, Run, which I finished a few months earlier
    And some NBCC winners.

  4. Don’t give up on Oscar and Lucinda – I remember loving it in the end. I went looking for the movie after I finished it, but couldn’t get my hands on it. Maybe I’ll renew the search… Have you seen it?

    • I won’t give up! I have a feeling it will get better, but I’m still at the part of Oscar’s childhood…still a long way to go.

      No I haven’t seen the movie, but I want to, after I read it. The book I have has the movie poster cover, and I want to see it also because Ralph Fiennes is in it and he’s one of my favorite actors!

      Thanks for the encouragement!

  5. For June I have The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt (started on this already), The Maltese Falcon for the book club, and Bring Up The Bodies by Hilary Mantel. I hope I don’t go crazy. :))

  6. Great selection! I have to comb through my shelves and make more an effort to read some of the books that I own, as I often get distracted with new books and recommendations from friends. 🙂

    • That’s a problem for me too! Even though I sometimes know what books to read next, I’m always getting distracted with other books. It’s fun though…it’s the one type of distraction I don’t mind!

      Thanks!

  7. In January, I wrote a list of ten books I was DEFINITELY going to read in 2015. It’s now June and I have only read two of them so far (Stoner and A Dark-Adapted Eye)… I’m not good at dipping in and out of books though – if I put one down, I rarely pick it up again.

    • Haha I have a similar list for a challenge, but I haven’t read a single one either 😦

      That’s ok if you completely give up on a book. Life’s too short to spend on books you don’t enjoy especially when there are so many other books waiting to be read.

Leave a Reply

