Cumberbatch Reads Kakfa, Oh My!

Do you love classic literature?  How about Benedict Cumberbatch?

If you answered an emphatic “Yes!’ to both, then you’re going to love the latest audio recording of Franz Kafka‘s The Metamorphosis, read by Benedict Cumberbatch.

I’ve read this novella a long time ago, but I really don’t mind listening to Benedict Cumberbatch’s deep baritone narrating the strange, confusing novel to me.  In fact, though not one of my favorite novels, I can probably listen to it again and again, ad infinitum.

Benedict Cumberbatch does a wonderful job of narrating the trials of Gregor Samsa, waking up one morning to discover that he had turned into a large bug – changing the tones of his voice and inflections to match the emotions of the text.  The novel, confusing to say the least, is fraught with symbolism and has been studied to death by high school and college – maybe even Postdoc students alike.  Is Samsa’s metamorphosis real, or allegorical?  Did he really turn into a bug, or is his transformation symbolic of this feelings of isolation, rejection and worthlessness?

Who cares!? It’s being read by Benedict Cumberbatch!  ‘Nuff said!

My only beef with the 4-part recording is that it’s too short.  I wish he’d narrate something like Herman Melville’s Moby Dick, or better yet, Miguel Cervantes’ Don Quixote – maybe then I can finally read…er…listen to it!

Oh, listen to it and be mesmerized here.

8 thoughts on “Cumberbatch Reads Kakfa, Oh My!

  1. To answer the first questions: yes and YES.
    For the last statement: YES!
    I’ve listened to it some time ago, and being addicted to..ehm..the voice. I don’t listen audiobooks much but I guess this one is really well-performed.

  2. I listened to the first part and I’m hooked! Cumberbatch is an amazing voice actor and I really love how he isn’t afraid to experiment with different voices.

  3. I don’t have much to do with audio books but I very much enjoyed Cumberbatch’s portrayal of Alan Turing in the recent film. Also, he does the voice over for Stephen Hawking on his ‘Grand Design’ video.

    • He’s done a lot of good films lately, though I haven’t seen that one. I saw the one where he was Julian Assange.

      I think I can tolerate audio books more if he narrated them. He has a nice, deep full voice.

Leave a Reply

