April Book Loot

Slim pickings in the book buying department for the month of April.  I only bought 2 books:  Daniel Deronda by George Eliot, and Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.

20150429_074339[1]

April was pretty much slow in all things bookish.  Apart from buying only 2 books, I read only one book, Death with Interruptions by Jose Saramago, which I very much enjoyed.

While reading Middlemarch, I had read something about Daniel Deronda, so decided to get a copy.  I will probably read it soon, or at least, sometime during the year.  Station Eleven I’ve been seeing in most “Best of 2014” lists, but as of now, I have no urge to read it.  I think it is a post-apocalyptic sci-fi novel of sorts – please correct me if I’m wrong.

Right now I’m reading Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy.  I think I’m about halfway through the novel, and I’m finding it intriguing. Earlier in the novel, I was quite ready to give up on it because I found some parts boring.  I’m glad I stuck with it though, because now I can’t wait to see what happens Bathsheba Everdene and her suitors.

Here’s hoping that May brings more books and better reads 🙂

9 thoughts on “April Book Loot

  1. Yes, do read the book first! I remember the film with Julie Christie and Alan Bates back in the late sixties and had to work very hard at the book after seeing the film first.

Leave a Reply

