March Book Loot

I only read one book in March because I was buddy-reading Middlemarch with a couple of people, but that didn’t stop me from buying new (and used) books to read sooner or later.   books

  1. Before I Go To Sleep – S.J. Watson
  2. The Woman in the Dunes – Kobo Abe
  3. White Teeth – Zadie Smith
  4. Dept. of Speculation – Jenny Offill
  5. Boy, Snow, Bird – Helen Oyeyemi
  6. An Artist of the Floating World – Kazuo Ishiguro
  7. The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher – Kate Summerscale
  8. True History of the Kelley Gang – Peter Carey

But now that I’m done with Middlemarch, I can move on and read shorter novels.  I’m currently reading The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher, but apart from that, I don’t have any plans on reading anything in that pile anytime soon. If things don’t change, books on my immediate to-read pile are:  Death with Interruptions by Jose Saramago, Enduring Love by Ian McEwan, and Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy because Middlemarch inspired me to read more Classics.

Which of the books on my pile have you read or are planning to read soon?  Please share your thoughts!

Happy reading!

13 thoughts on “March Book Loot

  1. So many wonderful books. I’ve had White Teeth on my list for a long time now. I’ll get to it soon! Either way, thanks for sharing! If you’re ever interested in some other awesome book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

  2. White Teeth is a funny one, about the lives of two dysfunctional families (Indian and British/Jamaican) in modern London. Kelly Gang is a “memoir” of Ned Kelly. It’s a difficult book to get through because Kelly is illiterate and so that has to be captured in print.

  3. I liked the humor of White Teeth. Dept of Speculation was all right. An Artist of the Floating World is melancholic, pretty much like most of Ishiguro’s earlier works. 🙂

Leave a Reply

