February Book Loot

February was a good month for book shopping; I bought 13 books, 3 of which I already read.

books

  1. The Temple of the Golden Pavilion – Yoshio Mishima
  2. Soul Mountain – Gao Xingjian
  3. The Children’s Book – A.S. Byatt
  4. Death with Interruptions – Jose Saramago
  5. The Known World – Edward P. Jones
  6. Death and the Flower – Koji Suzuki
  7. Paris, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down – Rosecrans Baldwin
  8. The Accused – Joyce Carol Oates
  9. A House for Mr. Biswas – V.S. Naipul
  10. Enduring Love – Ian McEwan
  11. The Big Sleep – Raymond Chandler

Last minute buys (February 26):

  1. The Buried Giant – Kazuo Ishiguro
  2. Far From the Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy

book2

The three which I’ve already read are:

  1. The Temple of the Golden Pavilion – Yoshio Mishimo (not bad, but hard to comprehend)
  2. Death and the Flower – Koji Suzuki (An excellent collection of short stories about family life)
  3. Paris, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down – Rosecrans Baldwin (a memoir of an American in Paris and why we all love/hate the French).

Currently reading:

Death with Interruptions – Jose Saramago (interrupted by Middlemarch by George Eliot).

I think I bought so many books in February that there won’t be anything left for me to buy in March….said no book lover ever!

8 thoughts on “February Book Loot

  1. I saw you list and went Oooohhhh. I was planning to read Ishiguro but read the review in London review of books today and it’s not appealing to me any longer. Too much magic stuff

    • Yes, I read in an Ishiguro interview that his new book is a fantasy and that it’s about Sir Gawain from The Round Table. I’m not really excited to read it either, but I will eventually, maybe sometime this year. I hope it’s good.

Leave a Reply

