January Book Loot

Despite my recent reading rut, I did manage to buy quite a number of books in January.  I’ve already read one of the books in that pile (The Hundred Foot Journey), and currently reading another (Pure).

20150126_144359

I’m looking forward to starting Jeff Vandermeer’s Southern Reach Trilogy, starting with Annihilation, because I’ve ready so many good things about it, and it seems like it was on everyone’s Best Books of 2014 List.  I hope it delivers.

Also got some classics; To The Lighthouse, by Virginia Woolf, which I know I should read eventually.  I was actually looking for this book last year, but couldn’t find a copy anywhere.  Then last week, I saw it in a used books store, and I wasn’t even looking for it.  Also got The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling. Always good to have Classics around, even if you’re not planning to read them anytime soon.

Last, but not least, two from one of my favorite genres, crime fiction The Redeemer, by Jo Nesbo, and Paper Moon by Andrea Camilleri.  I’ve never read anything by Jo Nesbo, but I’ve also heard a lot of good things about his novels, so maybe it’s about time I did.  Paper Moon by Andrea Camilleri is part of his Inspector Montalbano Series, the first book of which I’ve already read.  Paper Moon is the 9th book in the series, the books of which don’t need to be read in order.

There are 3 additional books I got in January, which aren’t in the photo and not included in my loot:  Detective Story by Imre Kertesz, which I got as a prize in a “contest” I joined; Small Memories by Jose Saramago, which I gave as a gift to a friend; and Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilrimage by Haruki Murakami, which I bought for my boss as a birthday present.

Anybody reading or read any of these?  What do you think?

8 thoughts on “January Book Loot

  1. I’m wary of books that are quickly becoming popular, like those Vandermeer books. I have only read To the Lighthouse but I would not recommend it to you if you’re still in a book rut. 😀

    • Those Vandermeer books are always on the same lists as Station Eleven….I’m curious as to why so many critics / readers think they’re so great. I have a feeling though that I probably won’t agree 😛 Though I hope I’m wrong.

Leave a Reply

