‘Tis The Season To Be….gloomy?

Even though I have a ton of books waiting to be read, I still can’t decide which one(s) I will be reading during the holiday season.

Out of curiosity, I looked back on my blog to see what I was reading this time last year, and the year before that, and the year before that….to see if I can find some clues as to what I should read this month.

From the dates of my blog posts, it seems that I usually finish a book (and blog about it) during the first weeks of December.  Posts after that are usually “wrap up” posts of the previous reading year.  Here are the results of my search:

December 2013:  The Luminaries – Eleanor Catton; John Saturnall’s Feast – Lawrence Norfolk; S – J.J. Abrams

December 2012:  1Q84 – Haruki Murakami

December 2011:  Skippy Dies – Paul Murray; Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie

December 2010:  It doesn’t seem like I read anything during the Holidays in 2010, but I did write about Les Miserables by Victor Hugo and Let the Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist.

Interesting.  My search seems to indicate that I forgo light, sparkly or anything reflecting the season’s joyous spirit of love and giving in favor of long, depressing, serious novels during the Most Wonderful Time of the Year.

So based on that, I guess my holiday book this year should be:  The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan.

13 thoughts on “‘Tis The Season To Be….gloomy?

  1. I picked up The Narrow Road to the Deep North when I was browsing in my local bookstore recently, because the title appealed to me. I don’t feel like reading anything quite so depressing at the moment though! I’m currently searching for something to read that is light but not too light; I’m not a fan of ‘chick lit’!

  2. Well you’ve picked a good one to oppose light and sparkly! I hope you enjoy it as much as you can hope someone enjoys a book like this one. But you know what I mean. 🙂

  3. That’s really interesting that you seem to favour massive, long, dark, weighty novels… do you have a particular reading setting in December (I’m thinking armchair, fire, hot chocolate within reach) that is particularly suited to heavier books?

Leave a Reply

