It’s Monday….

…so what am I reading?  The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scot Lynch.

locke

It’s strange because up until a few days before I bought this book, I had no plans of reading it.  I’ve never even heard of it.  Before I actually started reading this, I saw it somewhere online, maybe at the bookdepository site.  I didn’t really think much of it and I wasn’t even remotely curious about it.  I actually thought the title was Lies and that the author was Locke Lamora.

Anyway, a few days after that, a guy I was sitting next to on my home commute was reading a thick paperback book.  Curious to see what he was so engrossed it, I discretely turned my head in his direction (not that he’d notice even if I wasn’t discrete as he was totally immersed in his book), and lo and behold, he was reading The Lies of Locke Lamora.  After that I checked online to see what it was about and learned a few things about it, like it’s a fantasy series about a group of thieves who call themselves Gentlemen Bastards, and that there are currently 3 books in the series.

The premise of the story didn’t exactly capture my imagination, but I told myself that I would keep it in mind the next time I needed some “guilty pleasure” reading.  Then, on my birthday last week I went into a bookstore and told myself that I would buy myself a gift.  The particular bookstore I went in to was pretty small and didn’t have a lot of titles I was interested in.  The only thing that caught my attention – you guessed it – The Lies of Locke Lamora.  I figured, what the heck, I might as well, so I bought it and now I’m probably 200 pages in (the book is around 700 pages long).  So far it’s ok….interesting enough to keep me reading, probably until it ends, but not interesting enough to get me to buy the other 2 books in the series yet.  I learned my lesson with The Kingkiller Chronicle, when I bought the 2nd book, The Wise Man’s Fear along with the first, The Name of the Wind.  Unfortunately I didn’t like The Name of the Wind all that much, so I was stuck with the second book, which is still unread.

We’ll see.  I’m hoping that it will be a good fantasy series I can really get in to.  Apart from The Lord of the Rings and A Song of Ice and Fire, I haven’t read any really good books in the genre, and sometimes, it’s good to lose yourself in a good fantasy novel.

This meme, brought to you by Book Journey!

Leave a Reply

