Hot Off the Shelves: Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

Got my copy of Haruki Murakami‘s latest English-translated novel, Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage, just released today!

20140812_151933

The Knopf hardbound edition is nice and compact, and no bigger than a paperback book, just a bit wider.  With this small edition, the novel is about 386 pages long.

20140812_152133

The sleeve cover has parts cut-out, and covered with see-through plastic with background colors red, blue, black, and white, to look like fingers of a hand, and the inside cover, as well as the reverse side looks like the map of the Tokyo Subway system.  This design will become clear once you read the first few chapters of the novel.

20140812_151946

20140812_152024

My only regret is that my copy isn’t the Harvill Secker first edition released in the U.K, which includes a sheet of stickers designed by five Japanese artists as part of the company’s marketing strategy for the novel.  That edition is available at thebookdepository.com.  It seems a bit strange to put stickers with a novel, but then again, it’s a Murakami book….isn’t it supposed to be strange?

I’m still deciding whether or not to order the Harvill Secker edition, just for the stickers.  It costs a bit more than the Knopf edition, and I’m a bit hesitant because if I end up not liking the book, I wouldn’t want to be stuck with 2 copies of it.

I’ve been in a reading slump lately, but in this case, I guess that’s a good thing. At least I can start reading Colorless Tsukuru without putting aside a book I’ve already started reading.  Though I’ve already read the first few pages of Watership Down, I don’t think that counts because I haven’t exactly made up my mind to go through with it yet.

I now have 8 Murakami novels, 4 of which I’ve read (5, counting Colorless Tsukuru).  The three I will read eventually, when the time is right.

Wish me luck!

6 thoughts on “Hot Off the Shelves: Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

Leave a Reply

