Book Loot

Because of the recent (drastic) changes in my life/lifestyle, I have not had time to make regular posts about newly acquired books.  I will do so now…

I bought these books at different times in the last 3 months.

1.  The Luminaries – Eleanor Catton – The 2013 Man Booker Prize winner.  I’m about 78% done with this brick of a novel, which is incredibly engaging and very interesting.  Despite its size (and weight), this book is very hard to put down!  The year is not over yet, and unless the author managed to ruin the last parts of this book, this is probably the best book I’ve read all year.

2.  John Saturnall’s Feast – Lawrence Norfolk –  A historical fiction for foodies and hedonists…according to reviews.

3. Nurture Shock – Po Bronson & Ashley Merryman – Essays on child-rearing and parenting.  Being a new parent, I thought it would be a good idea to brush up on the latest researches on the development of babies and children.

4. The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho and 5.  The Old Man and the Sea – Ernest Hemingway – Bought second copies of these books for my son, Santiago, which we will give to him when he’s old enough to read, or old enough to appreciate books – especially books of the characters he’s named after.

6.  Oryx and Crake – Margaret Atwood – I decided to finally read the MaddAddam Trilogy, starting with the first book, of course.

7.  Austerlitz – W.G. Sebald – Got this at a secondhand books bookstore.  I’ve only read the first chapter, which is pretty strange.  The whole chapter was more or less about different buildings and architectural styles in Belgium and other parts of Europe, as shared by the character, Austerlitz to the yet unknown narrator.  To what end?  I’m not really sure.

8.  Mort – Terry Pratchett – Someone told me that if I wanted to start on Terry Pratchett’s Discworld that I should start with Mort.  I don’t know much about Discworld so I’m going with her recommendation, though I’m open to other suggestions.

9.  Fortunately the Milk – Neil Gaiman – Gaiman’s latest children’s novel about buying milk and suddenly being part of an adventure – things that could only happen in a Neil Gaiman novel.

So those are the books I’ve bought so far.  There’s still over a month left to the year, and I’m hoping to be able to buy more books, and of course to finish, or at least start reading, most of the ones I’ve bought.

11 thoughts on “Book Loot

  1. Looking at this list, I’m only qualified to comment on Pratchett. Mort is great but I’ve always felt TP’s best Diskworld work was when the fantasy was secondary to the opportunity to mirror our reality. “Guards! Guards!” introduces Vimes and the city watch. I’d start there.

  2. I know a lot of people dislike the two first Discworld books and hate Rincewind but I’ve always liked him, Luggage and Twoflower, the first tourist. That said, both Mort and Guards, Guards! are great so pick the one you think sounds best.

  3. Looks like a good list of newly acquired books! I will be interested in hearing what you think of John Saturnall’s Feast – I might have to read that one. And congrats on the recent life changes (new son!) 😀

Leave a Reply

