Currently Reading…

dirkLooks like I’m still in a reading slump, so I chose a book that is short, and supposedly funny.  Douglas AdamsDirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency and its sequel, The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul is probably not as famous as his The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Trilogy, but I heard that it is just as funny. After reading the first few pages of Dirk Gently, I can attest that it seems to be just as weird and quirky as The Hitchhiker’s Guide.

This has been on my “to-read” list  forever.  It has been there so long, in fact, that I think I already removed it, thinking that I would never get around to reading it.  Nevertheless, I never removed it from my “to-read” shelf, so it was just sitting there patiently until last night when I decided to finally get off my butt and try reading something again.

Based on the few chapters I’ve read (each chapter is composed of only 2 or 3 pages), Dirk Gently seems to be set in a futuristic, alien world.  That’s all I know about it right now.

I don’t really have any expectations from this book, other than hoping it would be very funny and entertaining and would somehow help me get over my reading slump.  If all goes well, I will be reading the sequel, The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul, right after.

Leave a Reply

