February Book Loot

Slim pickings in February:

IMG_20130301_215138

1.  Night  (Elie Wiesel) – I haven’t seen this in bookstores for a while.  I think they published a new edition with some corrections…

2.  Revenge (Yoko Ogawa) – I ordered this book from The Book Depository and I got it in less than a month!  This book piqued my interest after I read a book review of it at npr.org.

3.  The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry (Rachel Joyce) – I was going to read this instead of The Cat’s Table, but it seemed a bit similar to The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window and Disappeared, which I already started.  I put it on hold for now.  I also got this book from The Book Depository (it even came with a free Chinese Zodiac bookmark!).

6 thoughts on “February Book Loot

  1. Looks like a good haul! I read Night in high school, and it is so powerful. I’ve been wanting to read The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, but it does seem similar to The 100 Year Old Man… so it’s probably a good decision to space them out a bit. Happy reading!

    • Thanks! Yes, I’ve heard about what a powerful novel Night is, which is why I’m kinda waiting a while to read it…maybe when the mood is right (though I don’t know what mood is “right” for reading about the Holocaust…? 😦

  2. I’ve always wanted to read Night and I haven’t because as you mentioned – what is a ‘good’ time to read about the Holocaust. Every time I read a book to do with it, I can’t get over the fact that I can barely bring myself to read about the atrocities that people lived through and some survived. It inspires yes, but the shame of what human beings are capable of doing to their kindred is never far away 😦

    The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window and Disappeared – that’s an interesting title! I’m going to put it on my TBR list! You should read Harold Fry sometime though – an easy feel good read, maybe after you’re done with Night and feel like you need a breather! I read it after I read Gone Girl and it really helped clear my head 😉

    • Thanks for the advice! Yes, maybe I should read one after the other, so at least it won’t be too depressing. I just finished reading a rather depressing collection of short stories, so I won’t be reading “Night” anytime soon. But someday, though.

  3. I’ve been wanting to read The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and the 100-year-old man one. Good idea to put some reading space in between the two. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of them.

Leave a Reply

