Tentative Reading List for 2013

One thing I hate about going on vacation is the fierce hangover I feel once it’s over; that and the work that piles up on my desk while I’m away.

Being away on New Year’s, I didn’t really feel the transition from 2012 to 2013, and because of that, I didn’t feel the need to make any New Year resolutions or look back on the year that was.

Unfortunately, it is 2013, and like everyone else, I must move forward.  That applies to my reading list as well.

I have not decided on whether or not to join any reading challenges this year.  I joined 3 last year and only finished 1, although the challenges were good in structuring my book choices.

Based on my initial inspection of my ever-growing piles of books at home, here are a few of the books I’m planning to read this year.  Of course this list doesn’t include all the other random books I’m sure to come across throughout the year.

So without further ado, I give you my 2013 tentative reading list (in no particular order):

1.  The Man Who Mistook His Wife For a Hat – Oliver Sacks

2.  The Cat’s Table – Michael Ondaatje

3.  The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared – Jonas Jonasson

4.  The Garden of Evening Mists – Tan Twan Eng

5.  Ghostwritten – David Mitchell

6.  A Cabinet of Medical Curiosities – Jan Bondeson

7.  In Ghostly Japan – Lafcadio Hearn

8. Japanese Tales of Mystery and Imagination – Edogawa Rampo

9.  The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro

10.  The Monsters of Templeton – Lauren Groff

11.  What Einstein Told His Cook – Robert L. Wolke

12.  The Trial (graphic novel) – Franz Kafka

13.  The Finkler Question – Howard Jacobson

14.  The Perfect Spy – John Le Carre

15.  The Tiger’s Wife – Tea Obreht

16.  Hunger – Knut Hamsun

17.  Mysteries – Knut Hamsun

18.  Sisters Brothers – Patrick DeWitt

19.  Death Comes to Pemberly – P.D. James

20.  Special Topics in Calamity Physics – Marisha Pessl

21.  Monsieur Pain – Robert Bolano

22.  The Family Fang – Kevin Wilson

23.  The Left Hand of Darkness – Ursula K. Le Guin

24.  Kafka on the Shore – Haruki Murakami

25.  Number 9 Dream – David Mitchell

26.  Solar – Ian McEwan

27.  The Meaning of Night – Michael Cox

28.  Jamrach’s Menagerie – Carol Birch

29.  Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibbons

30.  Snobs – Julian Fellowes

Some of these books I started reading in 2012 but for some reason or other was not able to finish, and some of these books have been on my “to-read” list forever.

So, there you have it – somewhat new list for the new year.  Here’s hoping I will get to read all that – or most of it at least!

20 thoughts on “Tentative Reading List for 2013

  1. The first book I noticed is The Cat’s Table by Ondaatje…and how uncanny it is that I’m about to start reading it today! I think we have the same editions too! I’ve read a few of the books on your list and look forward to your reviews as and when…The Tiger’s Wife, Jamrach’s Menagerie, The Finkler Question, Death Comes to Pemberly…are some.

    Happy Reading!

    • Thanks! Same here. Some of those books I recently bought, while some I’ve had for some time but just never got around to reading. I do hope I to read them all this year, but if not, that’s ok too. I’m also looking forward to discovering other books as the year progresses.

      Good luck to your reading plans this year too.

  2. Great list! I’ve read a few of them (The Family Fang is fantastic, and I really enjoyed The Tiger’s Wife), and some of the others are on my own TBR list. Happy reading!

  3. This reminds me of my copy of Kafka on the Shore which I did not finish last year. I’ll have to add it back to my reading list this 2013. Good luck with your list. 🙂

    • Hahaha…well….some of those books I wanted to read last year but didn’t get around to reading. Some of them are also new books I recently bought. Others are just random choices of books lying around my house 😛

  4. Great list. You’ve got some of my favs in there and some that have been on my TBR list for far too long. Loved The Family Fang and Special topics in Calamity Physics. Happy reading!!

    • Thanks! That’s very encouraging, especially for Calamity Physics. It’s a pretty long book so I’m having second thoughts about starting it – in case I don’t find it that great… But I hope that I like it though.

  5. I am currently reading The 100 Year Old Man who……. I am INTRIGUED by what you’ll make of this one!
    I’ve been reading it…. for a long, long, long time lol.

  6. nice list! 🙂

    I nominated you for the Shine On Award. Should you choose to accept, please follow the instructions posted on my home page. Love your blog! ♥

Leave a Reply

