And That’s a Wrap!

If there’s one thing book bloggers have in common, it’s that they love making book lists – ‘bought books’ lists, ‘to-read’ lists, ‘books read’ list, ‘top-books’ list – and of course, it being the end of the year, it’s time to make some sense of all those lists complied throughout the year.

Of course, I’m no different from everybody else.  Year-end lists help me reflect on the novels I read in the past year and give me a sense of closure.

1341188599129_3893698

So, without further ado, here are my 2012 reading stats:

Number of books read – 28 – I’m happy with this even though I did not reach my goal of 50 because this is the most number of books I’ve read in a year.  Ever!

Books with ratings (0-5), in order:

  1. Daytripper (Gabriel Ba and Fabio Moon) – 5
  2. 2666 (Roberto Bolano) – 4.5
  3. The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (David Mitchell) – 4.5
  4. A Confederacy of Dunces (John Kennedy Toole) – 4
  5. Wolf Hall (Hilary Mantel) – 4
  6. Bring Up the Bodies (Hilary Mantel) – 4
  7. Amsterdam (Ian McEwan) – 4
  8.  Kamisama Hajimemashita (Juliet Suzuki) – 4
  9. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (Junot Diaz) – 3.5
  10. Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers (Mary Roach) – 3.5
  11. 1Q84 (Haruki Murakami) – 3.5
  12. A Dance With Dragons (George R.R. Martin) – 3
  13. Making Sense of an Ending (Julian Barnes) – 3
  14. The Imperfectionists (Tom Rachman) – 3
  15. The Sweet Life in Paris (David Lebovitz) – 3
  16. The Devil in the White City (Erik Larson) – 3
  17. Ready Player One (Ernest Cline) – 3
  18. The Book of Lost Things (John Connolly) – 2.5
  19. Black Swan Green (David Mitchell) – 2.5
  20. Cloud Atlas (David Mitchell) – 2.5
  21. The Name of the Wind (Patrick Rothfuss) – 2.5
  22. The Master and Margarita (Mikhail Bulgakov) – 2.5
  23. Dune (Frank Herbert) – 2.5
  24. The Baron in the Trees (Italo Calvino) – 2
  25. A Passage to India (E.M. Forster) – 2
  26. A Flight of Angels (collaborative work) – 2
  27. Sanditon (Jane Austen / Juliet Shapiro) – 2
  28. In the Woods (Tana French) – .5

Note that all the books  in this list have some kind of review or write-up here except for The Baron in the Trees (Italo Calvino), A Passage to India (E.M. Forster), and Sanditon (Jane Auten / Juliet Shapiro).

Average rating given:  3.07

Total number of pages read:  14,702 (approx.)

Male authors:  19

Female authors:  5

Collaborative work:  1

Most novels by 1 author:  3 – David Mitchell  (Cloud Atlas, Black Swan Green, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet).

English translated novels:  5 (2666, The Master and Margarita, The Baron in the Trees, 1Q84, Kamisama Hajimemashita).

Graphic Novels:  3

2012 Reading Challenges Joined:  3 (Chunkster Reading Challenge, Graphic Novel Reading Challange, Back to the Classics Reading Challenge).

2012 Challenges Completed:  1 – Chunkster Reading Challenge

Based on ratings, there are more than 5 books in the Top 5 list.  Technically,  my top 5 books are all the books with scores that range from 5-3.  But actually, if I had to choose, based on excellence of plot (in my opinion), enjoyment (my enjoyment, of course) and impact it made on me, my top 5 will probably be (in no particular order):

  1. Daytripper (Gabriel Ba and Fabio Moon)
  2. 2666 (Roberto Bolano)
  3. The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (David Mitchell)
  4. Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies (Hilary Mantel)
  5. 1Q84 (Haruki Murakami)

Of course, if there are the best books of the year, there also has to be the worst books of the year.  The three books I chose are not necessarily bad – they are just the ones I was most annoyed with:

  1. In The Woods (Tana French)
  2. The Name of the Wind (Patrick Rothfuss)
  3. Cloud Atlas (David Mitchell)

All in all, 2012 was a great reading year for me.  I discovered a lot of authors which I will definitely read more of in the future (Haruki Murakami, David Mitchel…maybe), and I think I was able to read books in different genres, from sci-fi, to fantasy, mystery, classics, and even novels that are hard to classify.

I hope that 2013 will be a better year, with even more discoveries.

To all those who follow (and visited) my blog, THANKS FOR READING!

4 thoughts on “And That’s a Wrap!

  1. Here’s mine:

    Average rating given: 3.72

    Total number of pages read: 18,102 (approx.)

    Male authors: 35

    Female authors: 17

    Collaborative work: 1

    Most novels by 1 author: 3 – David Mitchell (Ghostwritten, number9dream, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet).

    English translated novels: 11 (The Piano Teacher, Fatelessness, My Name Is Red, Anna Karenina, No One writes to the Colonel, The God of Carnage, 2666, Noli Me Tangere, The Land of Green Plums, The Little Prince, The Death of Artemio Cruz).

    2012 Reading Challenges Joined: 1 (Back to the Classics Reading Challenge).

    2012 Challenges Completed: 0

  2. Seems like I wasn’t the only one disappointed by Cloud Atlas! It was so hyped up I was expecting something mind-blowing, but I disliked it and disliked the movie too.

Leave a Reply

