2012 End of the Year Book Survey

The year hasn’t ended yet, and I’m still in the middle of Death Comes to Pemberley, but I don’t think that book will make any of my top lists this year so I’m gonna go ahead with this survey.

Besides, I don’t think I will be able to finish that before the year ends.

I haven’t sat down to really analyze all the books I’ve read this year, so, this will be the first of a few year-end book lists I’m planning to do.  Hopefully I will be able to post more lists later on.

This meme is courtesy of The Perpetual Page Turner.

I only read 27 books of my goal of 50, and though it’s only a little over half, it’s still a lot more than last year, so it’s all good!

***

Image17

1. Best Book You Read In 2012? (You can break it down by genre if you want)

Even with only 27 books on my “read” list, I still can’t pick just one favorite. It’s a 3-way tie between 2666 (Roberto Bolano), Wolf Hall / Bring Up The Bodies (Hilary Mantel), and The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (David Mitchell).

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

I think it would have to be Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. Though I was also a bit disappointed with Dune (Frank Herbert). I really thought that would blow me away.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2012?

Most surprising in a good way….? Hmmm….that’s tough. In terms of plot twist, I’d say Amsterdam (Ian McEwan). In terms of surprisingly / unexpectedly good, I would say 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami.

4. Book you recommended to people most in 2012?

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (David Mitchell).

5. Best series you discovered in 2012?

Wolf Hall (Hilary Mantel)…does that count as a series?

6. Favorite new authors you discovered in 2012?

I would like to read more of Haruki Murakami’s works. David Mitchell, on the other hand, is my favorite author I love to hate 😛

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

I don’t really have a comfort zone when it comes to reading, and I usually read any genre, so I can’t really answer this question.

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2012?

2666 (Robert Bolano). Most parts of it, anyway.

9. Book You Read In 2012 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year:

I don’t usually re-read books, so, my answer would have to be “none.”

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2012?

Daytripper by Fabio Moon and Gabriel Bas.

11. Most memorable character in 2012?

Thomas Cromwell.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2012?

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (David Mitchell).

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2012?

It’s hard to say. If I had to answer this, maybe I’d go with The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (David Mitchell), not because it really made an impact on me, but because it was hard to get over after I finished it.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2012 to finally read?

A Confederacy of Dunces (John Kennedy Toole).

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2012?

Several:

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.” (A Dance With Dragons – George R.R. Martin).

“What you end up remembering isn’t always the same as what you have witnessed.” (The Sense of an Ending – Julian Barnes).

“What my dreams really show me is what my life can be once I open my eyes.” (Daytripper – Moon and Bas).

“If you can’t understand it without an explanation, you can’t understand it with an explanation.” (1Q84 – Haruki Murakami).

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2012?

Longest: That depends. Which is longer: 2666 (Robert Bolano), A Dance With Dragons (George R.R. Martin), or 1Q84 (Haruki Murakami)?

Shortest: Not including graphic novels, probably Amsterdam by Ian McEwan.

17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

I can’t say for sure, but 1Q84 had a lot of WTF moments. In terms of revelations, maybe A Dance with Dragons by GRRM.

18. Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2012 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).

The two main characters from Ian McEwan’s Amsterdam.

19. Favorite Book You Read in 2012 From An Author You Read Previously

Amsterdam by Ian McEwan.

20. Best Book You Read That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:

None. I don’t really read books based solely on someone’s recommendation.

 ***

Well, that’s it.  Looking back at my list now, I realize that certain titles are mentioned repeatedly.

It’s funny how the best and (possibly one of the worst) books I read this year is by the same author.  None other than Mr. David Mitchell.  As of 3 days ago, I now officially have all his novels – 2 still unread.

14 thoughts on “2012 End of the Year Book Survey

  1. Love this post! I’m working on a “year in review” post as well, so this has me thinking about what I’ve read this year… As for Death Comes to Pemberley, I was glad I checked it out from the library vs purchasing… 😀

  2. LOL at the David Mitchell comments! But really, I should read Wolf Hall soon. And really? 2666? OMG, I almost forgot that I read it with you. I regret that I failed to include it in my top list (at least at the top 16). Merry Christmas! 🙂

    • Hahaha yeah, I have a love-hate relationship with David Mitchell…my favorite and least favorite books of the year are both by him!

      I also kinda forgot that we read “2666” this year…seems like such a long time ago. We should do a buddy read again next year 🙂

      Belated Merry Christmas and…Happy New Year!!

      Read Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies!!

Leave a Reply

