Chunkster Reading Challenge, 2012 – Mission: Complete!

I started 2012 by joining three reading challenges:  the Back to the Classics Reading Challenge, the Graphic Novel Reading Challenge, and the Chunkster Reading Challenge.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to read any books for the Back to the Classics Reading Challenge.  I thought I’d be able to read some classics this year, but I got so caught up in contemporary books that I completely forgot about the challenge.  I will try to join this challenge again next year.

So, that leaves me with 2 reading challenges, and I’m proud to say that I’ve recently completed my first ever reading challenge – the Chunkster Challenge, 2012.

Of the two challenges – Chunkster and Graphic Novel, I was surprised that I actually finished the Chunkster one first. And since it seems like I have a natural tendency for choosing long books, the Chunkster Challenge wasn’t very hard to complete.

The 6 chunksters I read this year (so far) were:

1.  2666 – Roberto Bolano (Picador, 898 pages).  Read from Jan. 3-19, 2012.

2.  A Dance with Dragons – George R.R. Martin (Harper Voyager, 1,015 pages).  Read from January 24-February 12, 2012.

3.  The Master and Margarita – Mikhail Bulgakov (Penguin, 564 pages).  Read from March 2-12, 2012.

4.  Wolf Hall – Hilary Mantel (Picador, 532 pages).  Read from April 5 to May 5, 2012).

5.  The Name of the Wind – Patrick Rothfuss (Daw, 662 pages).  Read from June 25 to July 17, 2012.

6.  Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell (509 pages).  Read from August to September 7, 2012).

In the Chunkster Challenge, I chose the plump primer category, wherein a challenger had to read 6 books with more than 450 pages.

However, looking at the 6 books I’ve read, I think I also completed the 3rd category:  Do These Books Make my Butt Look Big?

For the Do These Books…Look Big category, the challenger has to read 6 books – 2 with 450-550 pages, 2 with 551-750 pages, and 2 with more than 750 pages.

There is another category in the challenge – the Mor-booky-ly obese, wherein the challenger has to read 8 chunksters, 3 of which should be more than 750 pages long.

I don’t know know if I love chunksters THAT much, but when I finish Dune, that would be another book with more than 750 pages.  One more and I’d be able to complete that category too!

7 thoughts on “Chunkster Reading Challenge, 2012 – Mission: Complete!

  1. loving your blog for reading ideas! i think i’ll try some of these challenges next year and try cloud atlas soon…

  2. Geez!! That’s a LOT of words!!!!!!! I’ve shied away from challenges so far coz I never seem to be able to complete any, but I think I might look for a good one next year 🙂

    • That’s ok! This is the first time I joined reading challenges, and I was surprised I actually got to finish one 😛 I think if you really like the challenge you joined, then it won’t feel like a chore to accomplish.

      Good luck next year!

Leave a Reply

