New Books

Some newly acquired books (brand new and second-hand):

1.  The Left Hand of Darkness – Ursula Le Guin  To be perfectly honest, Ursula Le Guin only got my attention when I learned recently that she is the daughter of American cultural anthropologist, Alfred Kroeber.

2.  Dune Messiah – Frank Herbert – Book two of the Dune series.

Lately, I’ve had a hankering for sci-fi novels.  I’m reading Dune right now, and I’m curious to read The Left Hand of Darkness next.  I’m still working my way through Dune, and I’m not sure if I will want to read the series all the way through, but since I found a bargain copy of Dune Messiah, I went ahead and bought it anyway.

3.  The Ghost Road – Pat Barker – an addition to my collection of Booker prizewinners.  To be read whenever…

4.  The Sisters Brothers – Patrick DeWitt – I have an e-book version of this book which I’ve started at work, so I had to get a “real” copy.

5.  Snobs / Past Imperfect – Julian Fellowes – I became curious about Julian Fellowes after watching  Downton Abbey.  I only wanted Snobs, but the bookstore I went to only had a Snobs / Past Imperfect double edition, for the price of one. I don’t know if I’ll like Snobs, but if it’s anything like Downton Abbey, then it’s bound to be entertaining.

6.  Sanditon – Jane Austen / Another Lady – I’ve already read Juliette Shapiro‘s version of Jane Auten’s Sanditon, and I’m curious to see how it compares to Another Lady’s.  I’ve already noticed that Another Lady’s edition has a few more chapters than Shapiro’s, but I have yet to read the extra chapters.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

