Reading rants…and then some…

Ulysses, I blame you for this, as well as for all the evil in the world.

Well, ok, maybe that’s going too far.  Still, I blame you for putting me back 3 books behind schedule.

I’m still reading Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall, which I am enjoying.  I’m reading the hardbound edition, which is over 500 pages, but it doesn’t justify the fact that it’s been over a month since I started reading this.

I blame my slow pace to life, and other hassles…

Speaking of hassles, am I the only one bothered by the glaring differences between A Clash of Kings and the second season of HBO’s Game of Thrones?

Besides the overabundance of nudity (which wasn’t all in the novel), it seems like the directors and writers of the mini-series have taken the liberty of changing the story a bit.  To shorten storylines and avoid introducing new characters, they have made shortcuts and replaced characters with those already introduced in the 1st season of Game of Thrones.

Sometimes they even completely remove scenes and storylines that should have been there (but deemed unnecessary by the production) – probably due to time constraints and to make the story simpler, and easy to follow.

They have also added extra scenarios which aren’t in the book, probably to make things more interesting for viewers (ahem, naked women and sex), and to highlight character personalities (and flaws) through visual examples.

Changing Asha to Yarra though, I don’t know what that’s all about. According to the internet, the production decided to change Asha to Yarra, so that viewers won’t get her confused with Osha.

And in doing so, didn’t they just confuse all the Song of Ice and Fire series readers out there (including me)?

I don’t think the changes end there, because I read, or heard somewhere that they will actually be incorporating some parts of the third book – A Storm of Swords, into the 2nd season of the series.

The mini-series is on its 5th episode, with 5 more episodes to go, and so far, it hasn’t been as great as the first season of Game of Thrones.

Right.  As you may have figured out, the whole point of this post was just to rant about Game of Thrones.  The part about ranting about current reads was a complete ruse…

18 thoughts on “Reading rants…and then some…

    • On the contrary, I’m a very slow reader. This is the first time I’m going to attempt to read 50 books in one year. I don’t know if I’ll even succeed. I usually just finish around 25 books or less yearly.

      • I think if you find books you really enjoy, you’ll have no problem completing 50 books this year. But then again, we were just talking about Pillars of the Earth… 🙂

      • I finished 33 last year, so we’ll see how I do with 50 this year – especially with some of the longer books I am reading. btw: I just picked up another historical fiction book (Lionheart) while at HPB… I really don’t need any more books right now, but couldn’t help myself. I think my “plan to read” list is now over 150. Yikes.

      • lol…isn’t our tbr piles all like that? It just keeps getting bigger!

        I’ve also read a lot of long books this year. One of the challenges I joined this year is a Chunkster Challenge where you have to read books which are over 450 pages. Surprisingly, it’s the one challenge I’m doing very well in!

        I’m almost done with Wolf Hall…about 30 50 pages to go. I will probably be done with it this weekend 🙂

      • I meant to comment that I was catching up and reading some of your older posts and saw the Chunkster Challenge. I’ll need to review the info again, but based on some of the books I want to read (or have read), I think I could work on that challenge. 🙂 Good luck finishing Wolf Hall this weekend!

      • I think you’ll be able to finish it easily. There are different levels – for 6 books, 10 books, etc…I’m not too sure. I just did the most basic – 6 books I think.

        Thanks for taking the time to read the old posts lol….

  1. Totally agree with life and other hassles! I’m happy to say I’m out of my reading rut, although I am not tackling a fairly long book (800+ pages). BTW: Love your reading goal bar chart. Late last year, I set my goal for 50 books this year. I’m on #19 now… 🙂

    • Thanks! Good that you’re out of your rut…I think I’m on my way out. After Wolf Hall I will most probably read The Book of Lost Things and let’s see how it goes from there.

      That reading goal meter is from goodreads.com…if you have an account, you can set a reading goal and they’ll track your readings for you…or in my case, remind you how behind you are on your goal lol.

      • Thanks for sharing the information on goodreads.com. I will have to check that out! Good luck finishing up Wolf Hall – look forward to hearing what you think of it.

Leave a Reply

