W…W…W…Wednesdays

I need a break from working – from reading college application essays, which, to be honest, are quite dreadful, so I’m going to do something I’ve never done before – answering this book meme from Should be Reading.

1.  What are you currently reading? – I’m currently reading two books;  Gabrielle Hamilton‘s Blood, Bones and Butter, which is a memoir about how she became a chef and owner of the restaurant Prune, and I’m also reading Tana French‘s In the Woods, which, despite its intriguing plot, is not a book I’m too crazy about.

2.  What did you recently finish reading?  The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman.  It was quite interesting, but I wasn’t amazed by it.

3.  What do you think you’ll read next?  I’m not really sure.   Maybe Ulysses by James Joyce, or Sanditon, by Jane Austen, if I have time to squeeze in a short book before April.

28 thoughts on “W…W…W…Wednesdays

    • I think it would be interesting to read Ulysses in class. I think the analysis would help you to understand it better, and maybe even like it. The bad thing about reading it on your own is, there is a big possibility that you won’t understand a lot of things, and so won’t appreciate it as much.

      Goodluck in reading The Hunger Games. Just in time for the movie! I’ve read all three books, and they were enjoyable.

    • Haha, indeed…the dead girl in In The Woods is Katy 😛 Don’t worry, that’s not a spoiler. Try it out…but I can’t guarantee you’ll like it.

      Thanks for sharing your list! I keep meaning to read more Margaret Atwood, but so far I’ll I’ve read is the Blind Assassin, which I liked. In terms of Palo Coelho, I’ve only read The Alchemist, which I also liked.

  1. I liked, then didn’t like, then loved the Tana French book. I’ve continued reading the series (they’re really stand-alones, not like a typical series). I’ve just started this meme, too.

    • I’m glad to know it’s not just me who is a bit frustrated/confused with her writing. What really bothers me is that I don’t find her male narrator convincing as a guy. Tana French seems to be projecting too much of femininity on him….I can’t really explain it, but sometimes I have to remind myself that the narrator is a man.

    • It’s alright, though not what I was expecting. Gabrielle Hamilton talks about her rough childhood and adolescent, and her inadvertent career in the food/restaurant industry, and the events leading to the opening of her restaurant, Prune. I’m not done yet, though, so I don’t know what else she talks about.

      Thanks for sharing your list. Their Eyes Were Watching God is also on my tbr list 🙂

Leave a Reply

