The ABC Book Meme

I’m going to try a book meme today, for the first time, I think.  I haven’t written anything in a long time, even though I’ve wanted to, because I can’t think of anything interesting to write about.

Looking around the web, I found a simple-looking book meme at Book Meme, which got it from Rhapsody in Books Weblog, who acknowledged the source to be Lost in Books.  I’m sorry if I missed out anyone along the way in giving credit to the original creator or source of this book meme.

For lack of anything better to do (yes, I’m really procrastinating from doing what I’m supposed to be doing a.k.a. work), I’ve decided to try it.

Anyway, it’s called the ABC Book Meme, and you just  fill in each letter of the alphabet with a title of a book you’ve read.

If you haven’t read a book which starts with a particular letter, like ‘X’ or “Z” or “Q,” you can choose a book that uses one of those letters in its title.  However, you can only do this 3 times.

So here goes.  Warning:  It’s not as easy as it seems…

A– Are You There God, It’s Me, Margaret – Judy Blume

B– Breakfast of Champions – Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

C– Catch-22 – Joseph Heller

D– Death Be Not Proud – John Gunther

E– Einstein’s Dreams – Alan Lightman

F– Flowers for Algernon – Daniel Keyes

G– Good Omen – Terry Prachett and Neil Gaiman

H– Haroun and the Sea of Stories – Salman Rushdie

I– In Cold Blood – Truman Capote

J– Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell – Susanna Clarke

K– Kiss the Girls – James Patterson

L– Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

M– My Name is Red – Orhan Pamuk

N– Northanger Abbey – Jane Austen

O– One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest – Ken Kesey

P– Portnoy’s Complaint – Philip Roth

Q– (A) BanQuet for Hungry Ghosts – Ying Chang Compestine*

R– Room – Emma Donoghue

S– Sons and Lovers – D.H. Lawrence

T– Taltos – Anne Rice

U– (The) Uncommon Reader – Alan Bennett

V– Vernon God Little – DBC Pierre

W– (The) Winter of our Discontent – John Steinbeck

X– Xenocide – Orson Scott Card

Y– American PsYcho – Brett Easton Ellis*

Z– Zuleika Dobson – Max Beerbohm

5 thoughts on “The ABC Book Meme

  1. Awesome to hear from you.I’m good at procrastinating too! Lol. Love all the different books you’ve read. Do you have any favorites from this list? Recently I saw a television drama based off Flowers for Algernon, and I liked it a lot. Awesome meme!

    • Thanks! I guess for every letter wherein I had multiple options, I chose my favorite book, but for some letters like V or Z, I had only read that one book I listed down, but both are very good books and are actually among my favorites too.

      Wow, I didn’t know there’s a tv drama based off FLowers for Algernon. What is the show called…or does it have the same title?

Leave a Reply

