The Graphic Novels Challenge, 2012

Well, I just joined a new challenge for 2012; this time it’s the Graphic Novels Challenge.

The rules are simple:  Just read 12 graphic novels between January 1 to December 31, 2012.

According to Nicola (who will be hosting the challenge), a graphic novel can be a work of fiction or non-fiction; a compilation of comic books, or a one-shot story.  Basically, anything with illustrations and word bubbles.

Seems easy enough, since I read my fair share of graphic novels anyway.

2012 is turning out to be quite a busy reading year for me.

11 thoughts on “The Graphic Novels Challenge, 2012

  1. Have you read The Walking Dead? I bought two books with my brother last month. They’re kinda cool! He also read “El Eternauta” recently, but I don’t know if that one is easy to get or if it’s even in English… It was written by an Argentinian authour. I haven’t read many graphic novels myself, except Asterix and Obelix when I was a kid… I’ll try to get a bit more into the genre 🙂

    • I haven’t read Walking Dead…how many volumes is it? You should try it. It’s really interesting, because aside from the interesting stories, there are also beautiful illustrations. Why don’t you try this graphic novel reading challenge? 🙂 I will do a little research on El Eternuata 🙂 Thanks!

      • There are SEVERAL volumes, because it is a monthly series that still goes out. I bought the first two collection books, and each contains 6 volumes (they’re quite short). I think there are like 15 of these books. I bought them because my brother and I are fans of the TV series based on the books. Have you ever seen it? It is great! If you like zombies, of course.

        I will think of trying this challenge! Though I must admit, the Classics Challenge appeals much more to me! 🙂 Or maybe I can do both. I’ll start studying Literature at University next year, so reading and reading will be like my work, apart from one of the things I love most in life.

      • Studying literature in university…lucky!! I wish I had majored in literature. Imagine, going to school to read and analyze books..what could be better? 🙂

        Yeah, why not try both challenges?? This graphic novel one is easy enough. The hardest thing for me would be to read 12. I think I have 5 or 6 graphic novels at home I haven’t read, but I’d have to start buying more to reach 12 (not that that’s a bad thing :)) So thanks for the suggestion! Yes, I know the Walking Dead show 😛

      • Yes, it sounds like a dream 🙂 What did you study at University?

        That is the main problem, I would have to spend too much money buying books (which, of course, is a great way to spend your money, but I wish I had more, haha)… I’ll try to see if I can get some at the public library, or at the University library, I guess there’s something there! Finally, I signed up for the Back to Classics Challenge and a Sci-Fi Challenge. Maybe I also sign up to this one, but that’s it! xD

      • Thanks for the tip! That’s a good option, reading them online… I don’t read much Sci-Fi either, that’s why I actually chose to take part in the challenge!

        Oh, Anthropology, that sounds interesting too! Now I think I read somewhere that you had studied that (I think that in your about page). Besides, your blog’s name says it all 😛

Leave a Reply

