Books for the Back to the Classics Reading Challenge, 2012

I think I have pretty much decided which books I’m going to be reading for the Back to the Classics Reading Challenge, 2012.  It’s not easy to decide what to actually read, and in fact, I have a list of “back up” books for some of the categories, in case I can’t get through my first choice.  I hope I won’t have to change any of my first choices though.

So my picks are:

1.  Any 19th Century Classic

2.  Any 20th Century Classic

3.  Reread a classic of your choice

4.  A Classic Play

5.  Classic Mystery/Horror/Crime Fiction

6.  Classic Romance

7.  Read a Classic that has been translated from its original language to your language

8.  Classic Award Winner

9.  Read a Classic set in a Country that you (realistically speaking) will not visit during your lifetime

It’s not written in stone, so I may change any one of these if I feel like reading something else.
17 thoughts on “Books for the Back to the Classics Reading Challenge, 2012

  1. 1. Any 19th Century Classic
    The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane
    2. Any 20th Century Classic
    Ulysses by James Joyce
    3. Reread a classic of your choice
    Hunger by Knut Hamsun
    4. A Classic Play
    (None. Maybe I’ll insert George Bernard Shaw’s St. Joan)
    5. Classic Mystery/Horror/Crime Fiction
    Mysteries by Knut Hamsun – does this count? The title cannot really be the basis, right?
    6. Classic Romance
    Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates – does this count as well?
    7. Read a Classic that has been translated from its original language to your language
    The Tin Drum by Gunter Grass
    8. Classic Award Winner
    The Magnificent Ambersons by Booth Tarkington
    9. Read a Classic set in a Country that you (realistically speaking) will not visit during your lifetime
    The Good Soldier by Ford Madox Ford

    • Are you gonna post about the challenge in your blog? I think for the Mystery/Horror Category, the book really has to be a mystery/horror, etc….? I guess Revolutionary Road is ok..if that counts as a ‘romance,’ LOL. Btw…you don’t think you’ll ever visit Germany or parts of Europe?

  2. I should include Dracula then. And Rev Road does NOT really count, haha. It’s about a couple, but it isn’t necessarily romance. Time to read a Jane Austen novel!

    I’m still not sure if I’ll post this challenge on my blog because I already have my 2012 reading list set. And I don’t have plans to travel soon. I’m not much of a traveler, but in case I travel, Germany doesn’t appeal to me that much.

    • Emma is, in my opinion, Jane Austen’s most boring novel lol 😛 lol..why do you need to develop a reading discipline? I believe in reading the books you want, when you want. Life’s too short to read boring novels 😛

  3. Because I can’t stop hoarding books, so I need to catch up on my bulk to justify the expenses, hahaha.

    But boring is relative, isn’t it? I enjoy some novels that most people think are boring. 😀

Leave a Reply

