Currently reading…all sorts of books

I’m going to try reading several books at the same time.  I read multiple books simultaneously sometimes when I can’t get into a particular book, or when I’m undecided as to what to read next, or when several books catch my interest all at once.

The first book I’m reading is A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin, the 3rd installment in the series, A Song of Ice and Fire.

I feel less motivated to read this compared to the first two books mainly because it’s so long.  It has 1,100+ pages and the longest book in the series so far.  Also, though I’m still interested in the lives of the Starks and Lannisters and the lot, I feel I’ve been reading about them too long.  I need a change of scenery.

And so, since I’m not totally disinterested in that story, I will just read other books on the side.

Book number 2 is Blindness by Jose Saramago.  I picked this book up at a secondhand books bookstore a few months ago and have been saving it for my upcoming trip to Macau.  I feel that since Macau was a former Portuguese colony, and Jose Saramago is Portuguese, Blindness would be the perfect book to bring along.

Third book – Interpreter of Maladies, a collection of short stories by Pulitzer Prize winner Jhumpa Lahiri.  I’ve always wanted to read this, but never really got around to it until this weekend when it caught my eye as I was looking through my bookcase.  A few weeks ago I also got a handbound 1st edition copy of her latest book Unaccustomed Earth at a used books bookstore.

So far I’ve read 3 of the 9 stories in  Interpreter of Maladies.

4th book – The Story of Sushi by Trevor Corson, a book I started last month but couldn’t really get into.  The topic interests me so I will keep at it.

Those 4 are just some of the books I’m actually reading.  There are more books on my “to read” list.  I have some newly acquired books I want to read soon-ish:

I wish I was a speed reader so I could read a book a day; then I wouldn’t have to wait so long before starting on a new book. *sigh*

17 thoughts on “Currently reading…all sorts of books

  1. I read about half of the stories from The Intepreter of Maladies and really enjoyed them. I, too, share your frustration with not being a faster reader. I have so many books to get to and it seems I’ll never get anywhere near to reading what I want to. Frustrating!

    • I know!! So many books…so little time 😦 I wish I could get paid to just read all day long 🙂 Yes, the stories in Interpreter of Maladies are interesting. For some reason stories about India really fascinate me…

  2. Ambitious! Lol. I’ve tried to do this before and I always fail. I admire the people who can. Yeah when I first read Juliet Marillier I had to read all her books and then I got burnt out. So I know the feeling, about Storm of Swords. Depending on if I really like the book I can read it in a day, but yeah I’m not a speed reader either. 😦
    Wow, Blindness seems really interesting.

    • lol..yeah, wishful thinking on my part. I will probably end up choosing one book over the others then read it til it’s done…as always. Yeah, sometimes you can be really into a book then reach a point where you just have to stop. Fortunately, I’m not at that point yet with GRRM. I think Blindness seems interesting too…I hope I get into it. I tried reading Jose Saramago once, “The Double” but I couldn’t really get into it because of his stream of consciousness writing style in that novel.

  3. I wish I had your talent of reading multiple books. As you said, so many books, so little tym… To b honest I haven’t read any of the other books in ur wish list xcept for Interpreter of Maladies. I totally recommend reading it and best of all the book is divided into short stories, so u can complete 1 story per day while inbtw reading ur 1100+ page book.

    • hahahaha…wow, that’s not very encouraging 😦 But, what did we expect right? Seems like the guy can’t write anything below 500 pages. I think I will wait to buy it until it comes out on paperback. Besides, I still have 2 to go…. 😦 Sigh…and to think, Dance with Dragons isn’t even the last book!!

  4. i’m also reading multiple books—for the first time ever, here—but i’m afraid i won’t actually go back to the ones i started. i’m in the middle of clash of kings right now, and i think martin will be monopolizing my reading time for the foreseeable future!

    • Actually, I think I will give up on Blindness for now. I started the book last weekend, but couldn’t really get into it because of the style in which it was written. I tried reading a different Saramago book before, The Double, but gave up on it too because I didn’t like his stream of consciousness style of writing. Hopefully I will pick up Blindness again, someday.

  5. A Handmaid’s Tale is one of my favorite books. Hope you enjoy it.

    I’m currently reading The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie and loving it, so I too will be picking up The Weed that Strings the Hangman’s Bag soon.

    • Cool! I really liked Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. Flavia is such a cute, funny, yet exasperating girl 🙂 I hope I get around to reading all those other books on my list. I’m still working my way through A Storm of Swords (George RR Martin).

Leave a Reply

