Currently Reading: A Game of Thrones

I’m about to finish The Blind Assassin (Margaret Atwood) and I’ve decided to deviate from my reading list and attempt to read George R.R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones.


I say “attempt” because my paperback copy  seems like a million pages long and I’m not really good with long novels.  Most of the time I lose interest when a book is overly long.  I hope this is not the case with A Game of Thrones.

I’ve decided to read this because I recently started watching the HBO mini-series, which I found slightly intriguing.  Now I wish I had read the novel before watching the HBO mini-series.

I also learned after I bought A Game of Thrones that the series, A Song of Fire and Ice isn’t even finished yet.

Well, A Game of Thrones is a pretty long book and the next book in the series isn’t exactly a short story either, so I’m hoping that the books in existence are enough to tide me over.  That is, if I don’t quit reading the series altogether.

10 thoughts on “Currently Reading: A Game of Thrones

  1. I’ve been thinking of reading Game of Thrones for years, but still haven’t gotten to it. The mini-series hasn’t swayed my opinion, and I was sure it would.

    Good luck with it!

  2. I know it looks killer long, but it’s actually a very fast and easy read. This first book in the series is great, because characters are introduced very slowly, you’re not expected to know who everyone is, and there are some family trees & cheat sheets in the back too.

    you’ll laugh when you see that much of the dialog in the tv show is taken word for word from the book. Except that Renly / Loras scene? ummm, NOT in the book!

  3. I hope you like it! It’s really like a Medieval soap opera a bit of the time, which can be good or bad. It definitely seems to keep my attention!

    • Thanks, I’m liking it so far! I want to be able to read more but lately I haven’t been able to find the time. Hopefully this weekend I’ll be able to cover a lot of ground. I want to be able to get ahead of the part they are currently showing on HBO so there’s more suspense and excitement.

  4. I started with the audiobook, because I thought I’d be bored to tears, but in the middle I just started reading it cause the audiobook wasn’t fast enough. It took me a while to get used to the different person every chapter thing too.

    • Yes, surprisingly, it’s a fast read even though it’s really long. I like that every chapter is sort of told from the perspective of a different character…but I wish there were more characters included and not just the 8. It’s strange but the book kinda spoiled the show for me. Before I really liked the mini-series but after reading the book (I was a bit ahead of the story in the latest episode), I found characters in the show lacked the depth of the characters in the book, among other things.

Leave a Reply

