A Fall from Grace

I’ve been putting off writing about the last book I finished reading because recalling it doesn’t exactly put me in a writing mood.

I recently finished J.M. Coetzee’s award-winning novel, Disgrace, but didn’t post a review about it because I don’t really have anything to say about it. 

The novel is mainly about the inner struggles of a middle-aged college professor whose life  takes an unexpected turn after recent, tragic events in his life:  losing his job for engaging in an illicit sexual relationship with one of his students, and then moving to the countryside to live with his daughter on a farm, only to fall victim to a heinous crime.  

The main character is a bit of an intellectual snob who has a superiority complex over everybody, yet he is not blind to his own faults, especially when it comes to acknowledging his weaknesses, and his thoughts are often in conflict with his actions.  He is not a despicable character, yet he is not a very likable one either.  

The novel tackles issues of relationships; between conquerors and conquests, fathers and daughters, superiors and inferiors.  It deals concepts of sexuality, racism, feminism, pride and self-worth, guilt, anger and humility.

I didn’t like the novel very much, but I didn’t dislike it either.  Though very short, this somber novel took me several weeks to finish, and left me with a  very heavy, empty feeling inside.  I knew before reading it that Disgrace was much lauded, but it wasn’t at all what I expected.

Well, I guess I did have a few things to say about it afterall.

Leave a Reply

