Reading Challenges

So I’ve finally decided to try  a reading challenge, aside from my own personal challenge of reading all the Man Booker Prize winners and authors who have won the Nobel Prize in Literature. 

The reading challenge I decided to join is the Back to the Classics Challenge 2011, which originated from the very cute blog, Sarah Reads too Much.

The timeframe for the challenge is from January 2011 to December 2011 and the challenge is to read:

  1. A Banned Book
  2. A Book with a Wartime Setting (can be any war)
  3. A Pulitzer Prize (Fiction) Winner or Runner Up 
  4. A Children’s/Young Adult Classic
  5. 19th Century Classic
  6. 20th Century Classic
  7. A Book you think should be considered a 21st Century Classic
  8. Re-Read a book from your High School/College Classes

Doesn’t seem too hard…

Wish me luck!

9 thoughts on “Reading Challenges

  1. This sounds like a good challenge. I’ve entered more than I care to count, and now I’m scrambling to keep up. That’s what happens when you’re simultaneously a procrastinator and overachiever.

  2. I agree! Well the appeal of this challenge is that it’s relatively short…8 books I have to read in a year is fairly do-able, and the categories are interesting. I just hope I can get through it 🙂

  3. I am going to have to start thinking about which books fit into each category as I haven’t really thought about it since I decided to have a go at it. I suppose I had better give it some thought. Like you said, it will be fun deciding which books to read in the first place!

Leave a Reply

