Rashomon and Other Stories

The first book I completed for 2011 is Rashomon and Other Stories by Ryunosuke Akutagawa. Technically it isn’t a novel; it’s a collection of his short stories.

The thin volume is made up of 6 short stories:

  • In a Grove
  • Rashomon
  • Yam Gruel
  • The Martyr
  • Kesa and Morito
  • The Dragon

Though rather short, most of the stories are very deep, with complex layers, about love, betrayal, honor, pride and morality.

Legendary filmmaker, Akira Kurosawa’s movie Rashomon is based on Akutagawa’s most famous story, In a Grove, and not his short story of the same title. Though Kurosawa’s Rashomon was mostly taken from In a Grove, he mixed in elements from Akutagawa’s Rashomon, such as the setting for the meeting and storytelling of the 3 strangers sheltering from the heavy downpour at the start of the movie.

The short stories, though interesting, will surely leave readers perplexed, feeling a whole host of mixed emotions toward the characters in the story.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s