Travelling Books

In a few days, I will be going to Singapore for a week – not exactly for pleasure, but being there will definitely give me some time off.  I’m going to use that time wisely – to see the sights, to eat the local cuisine (I’m especially excited about the chili crab) and of course, to do some reading.

I usually have a difficult time choosing a ‘travelling’ book.  Normally I want to bring just one – ideally, one that I haven’t started yet, so I can read it throughout my ‘vacation’ time.  Also, I like being able to associate certain books with certain places and events.  Like, when I was reading “The English Patient” my vacation in Italy.  I like how every time I see a copy of “The English Patient” I remember the wonderful sights and sounds of Italy.

Which brings me to my other problem:  To bring a book which is somewhat related to the place of my travels or to just bring a random book which I know will hold my interest for the duration of my trip?  I already mentioned “The English Patient” as my book of choice while in Italy.  When I went on vacation in Beijing, I had brought several books, random ones like “The Road,” and “Autumn of the Patriarch,” and a non-fiction, book about Chinese food and culture called “How to Cook a Dragon.”

Sadly, I wasn’t able to read any of them because Beijing was such an awesome city and there was just so much to see and do that  by the end of the day, whatever energy you have left you’ll want to use to climb into bed to get a good night’s sleep.

I haven’t quite made up my mind what book(s) to bring with me to Singapore.  Right now I’m about to finish “Les Miserables” (after 3 months) and I’m just past the halfway mark in “Let the Right One In.”

“Let the Right One In,” is engaging enough, so I think I will bring it along with me.  Hopefully I will be able to finish it during my week-long stay in Singapore, but I’m still thinking of bringing an extra book in case I finish “Let the Right One In” quickly.

One book which instantly comes to mind is “A Thousand Splendid Suns,” which I’ve been meaning to read, but just haven’t gotten around to.  No particular work of literature comes to mind when I think of Singapore, so other than bringing a Chinese or Indian themed novel, I’m at a loss.

I think owning a Kindle would just about solve all my problems…

 

3 thoughts on “Travelling Books

  1. the best of luck on your trip.

    bring the bulkiest books, or an unabridged dictionary for a change. take note of how people at changi airport react.

    • Thanks! I actually went with Dan Simmons’ “Drood” even though I wanted to read “A Thousand Splendid Suns.” I have a personalized signed copy of “A Thousand Splendid Suns” and I didn’t want to risk leaving it behind or losing it….

      Btw..Singapore was great and I didn’t have too much time to read anyway. …

Leave a Reply

