My reading list

I’ve finally filled up my “to read” box with random books I found in storage.  These are books I have lying around, which, at one point in time, I was excited to read, but for some reason or other, forgot about or set aside.  Taking them out of storage and putting them in a box readily accessible will, hopefully, get me to finally read them. 

My “to read” pile, which I will hopefully get through before the end of 2010 is not final, as I will also put in here newly purchased books or books that I suddenly remember and want to read.  I’m not reading them in any particular order either. 

Here’s a list of what’s inside the box. 

Fiction:

  1. Odd and the Frost Giants – Neil Gaiman
  2. Drood – Dan Simmons (I already started this but got distracted with shorter novels).
  3. Rant – Chuck Palaniuk (I started reading this two years ago but stopped.  Will have to start over again probably).
  4. The Meaning of Night – Michael Cox
  5. Dream Angus – Alexander McCall Smith
  6. Weight – Jeanette Winterson
  7. The Book of Lost Things – John Connolly
  8. Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency – Douglas Adams
  9. The Long, Dark, Tea-time of the Soul – Douglas Adams
  10. Good Omens – Neil Gaiman & Terry Pratchett (January, 2011)
  11. Night Train to Lisbon – Pascal Mercier (already started reading this…)
  12. The Book of Murder – Guillermo Martinez
  13. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
  14. The Blind Assassin – Margaret Atwood
  15. The Road – Cormac McCarthy
  16. A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole
  17. The Angel’s Game – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  18. Tree – F. Sionil Jose (part of a 5-book series, all included in this list)
  19. Mass – F. Sionil Jose
  20. My Brother, My Executioner – F. Sionil Jose
  21. The Pretenders – F. Sionil Jose
  22. Po-on – F. Sionil Jose (7/21/10)
  23. Special Topics in Calamity Physics – Marisha Pessl
  24. Water for Elephants – Sara Gruen
  25. The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins (7/10/10)
  26. Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins (7/12/10)
  27. The Book Thief – Markus Zusak (8/1/10)
  28. The Magicians – Lev Grossman (7/26/10)
  29. A Spot of Bother – Mark Haddon
  30. The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro

Collection of Short Stories:

  1. Death in Venice – Thomas Mann
  2. Raise the Red Lantern – Su Tong
  3. Interpreter of Maladies – Jhumpa Lahiri

Non-Fiction:   

  1. The Man Who Ate Everything – Jeffrey Steingarten
  2. The Story of Sushi – Trevor Corson
  3. Waiter Rant – Steve Dublanica
  4. Robert’s Rules of Writing – Robert Masello
  5. Istanbul – Orhan Pamuk
Leave a Reply

